WHAT CAN HAPPEN TO A
PERSON CONVICTED OF A
HATE CRIME?

A person convicted of a hate crime is
punishable by up to 1 year in county
jail or up to 3 years in state prison, a
maximum of 400 hours of community
service, and/or ordered to pay a fine up
to $10,000.

The judge may order restitution.
Restitution means that the convicted
person will pay you back for your
actual damages and losses resulting
from the crime.

If the convicted person has no money
and cannot pay restitution, then you
may be eligible to receive financial
compensation from the California
Victims of Crime Prevention Program.

Please see the community support
section for the phone number and mail-
ing address.

HATE CRIME!

ALAMEDA POLICE DEPARTMENT
POLICY ON THE INVESTIGATION
OF HATE MOTIVATED CRIMES

It is the policy of the Alameda Police
Department to ensure that rights
guaranteed by the United States
Constitution and California State laws are
protected.

When these rights are infringed upon by
acts of violence, threats, harassment, and
intimidation, the Alameda Police
Department shall actively pursue all
available means designed to identify
suspects, arrest, and bring them to justice.

The effects of hate crime can be
devastating. victims often feel singled
out, vulnerable and threatened. The
Alameda Police Department is
committed to not only completing a full
investigation, but also assisting the
victim in finding community services to
assist them in their recovery.

For questions or comments, please call
the Alameda Police Department’s
Community Oriented Police and
Preventive Services Unit (COPPS) at
(510) 337-8305.

HATE
CRIMES

WHAT YOU
SHOULD KNOW

Alameda Police Department
1555 Oak Street
Alameda, CA 94501
(510) 337-8340



WHAT ARE HATE
MOTIVATED CRIMES?

Hate motivated crimes are defined
as “any criminal acts or attempted
criminal acts to cause physical
injury, emotional suffering, or
property damage where there is
reasonable cause to believe that the
crime was motivated in whole or in
part, by the characteristic or
perceived characteristic of the
victim’s race, color, religion,
ancestry, national origin, sexual
orientation, disability, or
gender.”

Some examples of Hate Crimes are:

Causing physical injury to a person
or damage to property because of
any of the above characteristics.

Disturbing, vandalizing, or
damaging a place of worship or
religious activities.

Interfering by force or threat with a
person’s constitutional rights
because of any of the above
characteristics.

Threatening violence (coupled with
the apparent ability to follow
through) using offensive words,
written or verbal.

WHAT CAN YOU DO IF
YOU ARE AVICTIM OF A
' HATE CRIME?

Report the incident to the Alameda
Police Department. For crimes in
progress and medical emergen-
cies, call 9-1-1 immediately. For
non-emergencies call 510-337-
8340. The police will respond.

Once a police report has been made
by the victim, an investigation will
be started by the police department.
When completed, the case will be
sent to the Alameda County District
Attorney’s Office for review.

If there is sufficient evidence that a
crime has been committed, the
District Attorney can file criminal
charges against the suspects.
Victims and witnesses may be
called to testify in a court of law.

WHAT COMMUNITY
SERVICES EXIST TO
ASSIST A HATE CRIME
VICTIM?

In addition to the Alameda
Police Department:

1. Alamedans Together Against
Hate (ATAH) 510-749-5811

2. Jewish Community Relations

Council (JCRC) 510-839-
2900

3. Spanish Speaking Citizen’s

Foundation 510-261-7839

4. United Filipinos-Alameda Inc

510-522-6420

5. Alameda Multicultural Com-

munity Center (AMCC) 510-
521-9405

6. Alameda Family Services

(Xanthos, Inc) 510-629-6300

7. Asian Community Mental

Health Services 510-45 1-6729

8. Alameda C.A.R.E

- alamedacare.org
alamedacare@yahoo.com

9. Alameda County District

Attorney, Victim & Witness
- “Assistance 510-272-6180
10. NAACP (Oakland) 510-652-
8493



